top of page

Informations sur les membres du conseil d'administration

Barbera - pix.png
Marianne Barbéra

Mme Barbera est la sœur d'une sœur adulte atteinte du syndrome de Down qui a reçu un diagnostic de démence.  Elle est une éducatrice à la retraite et une défenseure du syndrome de Down et de la communauté des handicapés intellectuels et développementaux.  Mme. Barbera est membre de diverses organisations I / DD, notamment AHRC Nassau (une section locale de The Arc), membre du conseil d'administration du Charles Evans Center (un groupe médical pour I / DD) et Partners Health Plan (une organisation gérée par Medicare. pour I/DD).

Kathleen Bishop
Kathleen M. Bishop, Ph.D.

Le Dr Bishop est un gérontologue spécialisé dans le vieillissement avec une déficience intellectuelle.  Dr. Bishop travaille comme consultant pour de nombreuses organisations dans les réseaux de vieillissement et d'IDD et aide à la planification des programmes et du soutien.  Ses domaines d'expertise comprennent les modifications environnementales et les troubles du développement, la prestation de soins aux adultes atteints de démence et de DID, et les problèmes des femmes handicapées.

Esralew - pix_edited.jpg
Lucille Esralew, Ph.D.

Le Dr Esralew est un psychologue agréé en Californie et dans le New Jersey et un neuropsychologue clinique certifié spécialisé dans le travail avec les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle et développementale, les personnes souffrant de troubles mentaux graves et les personnes atteintes de démence avec et sans déficience intellectuelle. Elle fait partie du sous-comité de certification clinique de NADD et est psychologue principale pour le département californien des services de développement.

Colleen Hatcher
Colleen Hatcher, M.Ed.

Ms. Hatcher is the Chief of Staff at the National Down Syndrome Society (NDSS) in Washington, DC. She has a bachelor’s degree in elementary special education and a master’s degree in elementary special education, severe disabilities from the University of Maryland. She was inspired to advocate for individuals with disabilities because of her friend Gina who has Down syndrome. She is passionate about ensuring that individuals with disabilities, their families, and caregivers have access to the services and supports they need.

E. Adel Herge
E. Adel Hergé, OTD, OTR/L

Le Dr Herge est professeur et directeur du programme BSMS OT au département d'ergothérapie de l'Université Thomas Jefferson à Philadelphie, PA, et coprésident le comité d'évaluation NTG.  Elle a présenté dans divers lieux professionnels et écrit des chapitres de livres sur des sujets liés à la déficience intellectuelle, au vieillissement, à la démence et à la pratique de l'ergothérapie.  Elle est certifiée Skills2Care® et travaille sur un nouveau programme Skills2Care-ID® pour soutenir les soignants des personnes atteintes de déficience intellectuelle et de démence.

Nancy J_edited.jpg
Nancy S. Jokinen, MSW, Ph.D.

Le Dr Jokinen est professeur auxiliaire à l'École de travail social de l'Université du Nord de la Colombie-Britannique. Aux côtés de ses collègues canadiens, elle dirige le NTG - Consortium canadien sur les déficiences intellectuelles et la démence. Elle a aidé à adapter le NTG Education & Training Curriculum pour une utilisation dans un contexte canadien et travaille à fournir une formation et à défendre les intérêts des familles et des personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle touchées par la démence,

Janicki - pix.jpg
Matthew P.  Janicki, Ph.D.

Le Dr Janicki est psychologue et professeur agrégé de recherche au Département du handicap et du développement humain de l'Université de l'Illinois à Chicago, membre du Conseil consultatif fédéral sur la recherche, les soins et les services liés à la maladie d'Alzheimer, et était auparavant directeur du vieillissement et des populations pour le Bureau de l'État de New York pour les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle. Il est l'auteur de nombreux livres et articles sur le vieillissement, la démence et les politiques publiques concernant les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle et développementale.

Seth Keller
Seth M. Keller, MD

Le Dr Keller est un neurologue certifié par le conseil d'administration en pratique privée avec Neurology Associates of South Jersey, spécialisé dans l'évaluation et les soins des adultes ayant une déficience intellectuelle et développementale. Il est ancien président de l'American Academy of Developmental Medicine and Dentistry (AADMD) et président de la section Adultes ayant une déficience intellectuelle de l'American Academy of Neurology.  Il est co-auteur d'un certain nombre d'articles et de chapitres de livres relatifs au vieillissement et à la démence chez les adultes ayant une déficience intellectuelle. 

Marsack-Topolewski pix.jpg
Christina N. Marsack-Topolewski, Ph.D.

Le Dr Marsack-Topolewski est professeur adjoint à la School of Social Work de l'Eastern Michigan University et co-chercheur du Michigan Older Caregivers of Emerging Adults with Autism and Other Neurodevelopmental Disabilities Family Support Project. Ses domaines d'intérêt comprennent les besoins, les expériences et les systèmes de prestation de services pour les soignants de personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle et développementale.

McCallion pix.jpg
Philip McCallion, Ph.D.

Le Dr McCallion est professeur et directeur de l'École de travail social au sein du Collège de santé publique de l'Université Temple et cofondateur/cochercheur principal/codemandeur du supplément sur la déficience intellectuelle de l'étude longitudinale irlandaise sur le vieillissement, et co-chercheur sur des études longitudinales de la démence chez les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Down. Le Dr McCallion est également professeur invité/adjoint au Trinity College de Dublin et consultant national sur les déficiences intellectuelles et la démence pour le National Alzheimer's and Dementia Resource Center des États-Unis.

Resized_IMG_0171 - Copy.jpg
Philip McCallion, Ph.D.

Le Dr McCallion est professeur et directeur de l'École de travail social au sein du Collège de santé publique de l'Université Temple et cofondateur/cochercheur principal/codemandeur du supplément sur la déficience intellectuelle de l'étude longitudinale irlandaise sur le vieillissement, et co-chercheur sur des études longitudinales de la démence chez les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Down. Le Dr McCallion est également professeur invité/adjoint au Trinity College de Dublin et consultant national sur les déficiences intellectuelles et la démence pour le National Alzheimer's and Dementia Resource Center des États-Unis.

Moro_Teresa-pix.jpg
Philip McCallion, Ph.D.

Le Dr McCallion est professeur et directeur de l'École de travail social au sein du Collège de santé publique de l'Université Temple et cofondateur/cochercheur principal/codemandeur du supplément sur la déficience intellectuelle de l'étude longitudinale irlandaise sur le vieillissement, et co-chercheur sur des études longitudinales de la démence chez les personnes atteintes du syndrome de Down. Le Dr McCallion est également professeur invité/adjoint au Trinity College de Dublin et consultant national sur les déficiences intellectuelles et la démence pour le National Alzheimer's and Dementia Resource Center des États-Unis.

Mughal - Pix_edited.jpg
Dawna Torres Mughal, Ph.D., RDN

Le Dr Mughal est professeur agrégé émérite à l'Université de Gannon, diététiste nutritionniste agréé et membre de l'American Dietetic Association et de l'Académie de nutrition et de diététique. Elle est également directrice clinique de la promotion de la santé pour Special Olympics (PA) et consultante nationale sur la nutrition et le handicap. Ses intérêts et son travail comprennent la recherche, les soins aigus, l'enseignement supérieur, les programmes d'éducation nutritionnelle, la défense des bonnes causes, le bénévolat pérenne et le service communautaire. 

Murray - pix_edited.jpg
Melissa Parnell, Ph.D.

Le Dr Parnell est psychologue agréé au Département de la santé et des services sociaux de Caroline du Nord et directeur des services psychologiques de Parnell. Elle est une spécialiste certifiée des soins de la démence et a plus de 15 ans d'expérience de travail avec des personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle et développementale et leurs familles tout au long de la vie et a pratiqué dans plusieurs contextes, y compris des écoles, des hôpitaux et des programmes résidentiels. Elle est passionnée par l'engagement avec les individus, les familles et les prestataires de soins pour fournir des soins consciencieux et aider ceux qu'elle sert à mener une vie pleine et pleine de sens. 

Rick Rader_edited.jpg
Rick Rader, M.D.

Le Dr Rader est le directeur du centre d'habilitation (Orange Grove) à Chattanooga, TN, et un médecin formé en médecine interne et en anthropologie médicale. Ses intérêts particuliers portent sur le processus de vieillissement en ce qui concerne les personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle; et en particulier dans la formation et l'éducation des professionnels de soutien direct et des fournisseurs de soins de santé dans le domaine du déclin cognitif et de la démence. Il est membre du Conseil national fédéral sur le handicap, président du conseil d'administration de l'American Association on Health and Disability et rédacteur en chef du magazine Exceptional Parent.

Service - pix_edited.jpg
Kathryn P. Service, inf., MS, FNP-BC, CDDN

Mme Service est infirmière praticienne et se spécialise en soins infirmiers en gérontologie. Retraitée du département des services de développement du Massachusetts, elle consulte en tant que spécialiste des soins de la démence en tant que fournisseur de pratique avancée. Elle a siégé à divers conseils et comités consultatifs, y compris le conseil fondateur de DDNA et a présenté et rédigé des articles sur le vieillissement, la démence et la fin de vie liés aux personnes ayant une déficience intellectuelle.

Stepowany - pix.jpg
Helen Eshenour Stepowany, MS

Mme Stepowany est chargée de cours auxiliaire dans le programme d'études supérieures en administration de la santé au Utica College et travaille depuis plus de 40 ans dans les services de santé et d'invalidité.  Elle a occupé un poste de direction dans plusieurs organisations à but non lucratif très réputées de l'État de New York, notamment Upstate Cerebral Palsy, le Kelberman Center for Autism et le Kennedy Willis Center à Pathfinder Village. En tant que consultante en organisation, son travail se concentre sur le renforcement des capacités des organisations à but non lucratif ainsi que sur la façon dont les modèles communautaires vivables peuvent soutenir efficacement les personnes âgées ayant une déficience intellectuelle.

bottom of page

Board Member Information

Kathleen M. Bishop, Ph.D.

Dr. Bishop is a gerontologist with a specialty in aging with developmental disabilities.  Dr. Bishop works as a consultant for many organizations in the aging and IDD networks and assists with program and support planning.  Her areas of expertise include environmental modifications and developmental disabilities, caregiving for adults with dementia and IDD, and issues of women with disabilities.

Nicole Cadovius, MBA 

Ms. Cadovius is the Director for Practice Improvement at the National Council for Behavioral Health and oversees a national project portfolio focused on aging, mental health, recovery and substance use, and peer supports. She is a Certified Therapeutic Recreation Specialist and serves on several national boards as well as is the President of Region X, American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities.

Lucille Esralew, Ph.D.

Dr. Esralew is a licensed psychologist in California and New Jersey and a Certified Clinical Neuropsychologist specializing in work with individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities, individuals with severe mental health disorders and persons with dementia both with and without intellectual disability. She is on the Clinical Certification Subcommittee of NADD and serves as Senior Psychologist for the California Department of Developmental Services.

E. Adel Herge, OTD, OTR/L

Dr. Herge is Professor and Director of the BSMS OT Program in the Department of Occupational Therapy at Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia, PA, and Co-Chairs the NTG Evaluation Committee.  She has presented at various professional venues and authored book chapters on topics related to intellectual disability, aging, dementia, and occupational therapy practice.  She is Skills2Care® certified and is working on a new Skills2Care-ID® program to support caregivers of individuals with intellectual disability and dementia.

Nancy S. Jokinen, MSW, Ph.D.

Dr. Jokinen is an adjunct professor for the University of Northern British Columbia's School of Social Work. She alongside Canadian colleagues leads the NTG - Canadian Consortium on Intellectual Disabilities and Dementia. She helped adapt the NTG Education & Training Curriculum for use in a Canadian context and works to provide training and advocate on behalf of families and individuals with intellectual disability affected by dementia,

Paula Gann

Ms. Gann is the parent of daughter with Down syndrome diagnosed with Alzheimer’s disease. She is an advocate for the planning and delivery of services for persons with Down with dementia. In addition to a career in magazine publishing and in not-for- profit organization management, she volunteers for the Alzheimer’s Association, co-facilitating a telephone support group for caregivers of people living with Down syndrome and dementia.

Andrew W. Griffin, Ph.D.

Dr. Griffin is a licensed psychologist and has worked in a variety of settings including at the Austin State Hospital in Texas and the Mexia State Supported Living Center, and as well as in other long-term care facilities. His specialties are forensics, aging, and intellectual disabilities.  A native of Houston, Texas, he received a doctoral degree in Educational Psychology from Texas A & M University.

Matthew P.  Janicki, Ph.D.

Dr. Janicki is a psychologist and research associate professor in the Department of Disability and Human Development at the University of Illinois at Chicago, a member of the federal Advisory Council on Alzheimer’s Research, Care, and Services, and formerly was director for aging and special populations for the New York State Office for People with Developmental Disabilities. He is the author of numerous books and articles on aging, dementia, and public policy with respect to people with intellectual and developmental disabilities.

Seth M. Keller, M.D.

Dr. Keller is a board-certified neurologist in private practice with Neurology Associates of South Jersey, specializing in the evaluation and care of adults with intellectual and developmental disabilities. He is a Past President of the American Academy of Developmental Medicine and Dentistry (AADMD) and the chair of the Adults with Intellectual Disability Section of the American Academy of Neurology.  He is a co-author on a number of articles and book chapters relating to aging and dementia in adults with intellectual disability. 

Christina N. Marsack-Topolewski, Ph.D.

Dr. Marsack-Topolewski is an assistant professor in the School of Social Work at Eastern Michigan University and a co-investigator on the Michigan Older Caregivers of Emerging Adults with Autism and Other Neurodevelopmental Disabilities Family Support Project. Her areas of interest include the needs, experiences, and service delivery systems for caregivers of individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities.

Dawna Torres Mughal, Ph.D., RDN

Dr. Mughal is associate professor emerita at Gannon University, a registered dietitian nutritionist, and Fellow of the American Dietetic Association and of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. She is also the Clinical Director for Health Promotion for Special Olympics (PA) and a national consultant on nutrition and disability. Her interests and work includes research, acute care, higher education, nutrition education programs, advocacy for good causes, perennial volunteerism, and community service. 

Philip McCallion, Ph.D.

Dr. McCallion is Professor and Director of the School of Social Work within the College of Public Health at Temple University and the co-founder/co-principal investigator/co-applicant of the Intellectual Disability Supplement to the Irish Longitudinal Study on Aging, and co-investigator on longitudinal studies of dementia in persons with Down syndrome. Dr. McCallion is also a Visiting/Adjunct Professor at Trinity College Dublin, and is the National Consultant on Intellectual Disabilities and Dementia for the U.S. National Alzheimer’s and Dementia Resource Center.

Melissa Parnell, Ph.D.

Dr. Parnell is a licensed psychologist at the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services and a principal of Parnell Psychological Services. She is a certified dementia care specialist and has over 15 years of experience working with individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities and their families across the lifespan and has practiced across multiple settings, including schools, hospitals, and residential programs and she is passionate about engaging with individuals, families, and care providers to provide conscientious care and help those she serves achieve a full and meaningful life. 

Kathryn Pears, MPPM

Ms. Pears is principal of Dementia Care Strategies {DCS) and provides training and consulting to professionals in the aging and disability sectors.  She has been professionally involved in the field of dementia-for over 30 years and served as the Director of Programs and Policy for the Alzheimer's Association's Maine Chapter. She specializes in the non­pharmacologic management of the behavioral and psychiatric behaviors of dementia (BPSD).  

Rick Rader, M.D.

Dr. Rader is the Director of the (Orange Grove) Habilitation Center in Chattanooga, TN, and a physician crossed-trained in internal medicine and medical anthropology. His special interests are in the aging process as it relates to individuals with intellectual disability; and especially in the training and education of direct support professionals and health care providers in the area of cognitive decline and dementia. He is a member of the federal National Council on Disability, Board President of the American Association on Health and Disability, and editor-in-chief of the Exceptional Parent magazine.

Jadene S. Ransdell

Ms. Ransdell is the mother of an adult son with Down syndrome. She is a special educator and served as Director of the Vogelweh, Germany Army Community Service Exceptional Family Member program, the Executive Director of the Family Network on Disabilities of Florida, and as President of her consulting business, The Different Drummer. She is the co-chair of the NTG's Family Support and Advocacy Workgroup and is also the Senior Advisor of the Aging and Caregiving Initiative for the National Down Syndrome Society.

Kathryn P. Service, RN, MS, FNP-BC, CDDN

Ms. Service is a nurse practitioner and specializes in gerontological nursing. Retired from the Massachusetts Department of Developmental Services, she consults as a dementia care specialist advanced practice provider. She has served on various advisory boards and committees, including the founding board of DDNA and presented and authored articles on aging, dementia, end-of-life related to people with intellectual disability.

Helen Eshenour Stepowany, MS

Ms. Stepowany is an adjunct lecturer in the graduate program for Health Administration at Utica College and has worked for more than 40 years in health and disability services.  She has served in an executive leadership role for several highly regarded New York State non-profit organizations including Upstate Cerebral Palsy, the Kelberman Center for Autism, and the Kennedy Willis Center at Pathfinder Village. As an organizational consultant, her work focuses on non-profit capacity building as well as on how livable community models can effectively support older adults with intellectual disabilities

     National Task Group on Intellectual Disabilities and Dementia Practices. © 2020                           www.the-ntg.org                                                       Edited 12/3/20

  • c-facebook