top of page

Toronto Summit

Co-Sponsored by NTG

2nd International Summit on Intellectual Disability and Dementia

The 2nd International Summit was a collaborative effort undertaken by the Canadian NTG Consortium, the NTG (USA), University of Stirling, the REENA Organization of Thornhill, Ontario, and others. The Summit, in a round-table format, was held over two days during which attendees will be examining three significant issues - human rights and intellectual disability, co-incident neuroatypical conditions, and brain health and wellness practices. The Summit was limited in attendance, but interested researchers, clinicians, agency personnel, and others were welcome to self-nominate for participation and invitation. The Toronto Summit, modeled on the first one held in Glasgow, Scotland in 2016, has agreed to produce a summative statement and participants will contribute to a series of reports and peer-reviewed articles which will emanate from the Summit.

The venue for the Summit was Toronto, Ontario, Canada.  Dementia screening instruments are relatively quick and easy to administer, making them suitable for use in a variety of healthcare settings. Participant travel was self-funded, and the local organizer, the Reena Organization, subsidized lodging and contributed to local amenities. The meeting site was the Holiday Inn Pearson International Airport, 970 Dixon Road, Toronto, Ontario M3W 1J9. 

Persons interested in information on the status of outputs being produced by Summit participants can check the International Summit Secretariat webpage.

final Summit logo.jpeg
Group shot_edited.jpg


Underwriting and Sponsoring Organizations
Butz Family Fund_edited.jpg
logo-ariel foundation_edited.jpg

Participants of the 2nd International Summit

Janice Barr (Canada), Ivan Brown (Canada), Kathryn Carroll (USA), Arianna Esposito (USA), Lucille Esralew (USA), Lawrence T. Force* (USA), Tiziano Gomiero (Italy), Dean Hartley* (USA), Coleen Hatcher (USA), Terri Hewitt (Canada), Laura LaChance (Canada), Frode Kibsgaard Larsen (Norway), Yona Lunsky (Canada), Matthew Janicki (USA), Nancy Jokinen (Canada), Seth Keller (USA, Ashok Krishnamoorthy (Canada), Beth Marks* (USA), Mary McCarron (Ireland), Philip McCallion (USA), Eimear McGlinchey (Ireland), Dawna Torres Mughal (USA), Alyt Oppewal (the Netherland), Vikram Palanisamy (Canada), Mira Puri (Canada), Evelyn Reilly (Ireland), Brianne Samson (Canada), Flavia Santos (Ireland), Jeanny Scantlebury (Canada), Kathy Service (USA), Yumi Shirai (USA), Shahin Shooshtari (Canada), Jasmina Sisirak* (USA), Sandy Stemp (Canada), Anupam Thakur (Canada), Leslie Udell (Canada), Karen Watchman (Scotland)

*in abstentia

bottom of page